Fiona Stephens

Heavy Scotland is back for 2018!

Heavy Scotland festival will return  in 2018 with a new date, lasting for three days from Friday 31 August to Sunday 02 September, at to Edinburgh’s Corn Exchange.

Exclusively playing in Scotland in 2018 are: metal legends Carcass, thrash titans Gama Bomb, Brazilians Nervose and local favourites Perpetua.

Purchase tickets from this link.

Under-18 tickets are available now. Super Early Bird tickets available from just £66.60 and Student Weekend tickets at just £50.

The news follows a highly impressive first year from Heavy Scotland, placing Edinburgh on the international metal map. Headliners Behemoth and Arch Enemy topped a stellar bill, which also included the likes of Fleshgod ApocalypseDestructionFinntrollHavok and more. Garnering local and international acclaim, Heavy Scotland is fast becoming Scotland’s national heavy metal festival, and is the largest of its kind in the country’s capital of Edinburgh. Borne from a love of all things loud and with a passion for the local scene, Heavy Scotland is an event deserving of the attention so far received. Stay tuned for more information as it comes.

Thermal Entertainment sign Sumner Roots

Thermal Entertainment is proud to welcome Nashville’s Sumner Roots to their roster. The band features former Framing Hanley members Kenneth Nixon (vocals), Ryan Belcher (guitar) and Jonathan Stoye (bass). Rounding out the band will be Shad Teems on drums.

“We are excited to add Sumner Roots in the Thermal family of already amazing artist/bands. Nixon, Ryan and the guys bring a strong background of success with Framing Hanley to our organization.  When this opportunity presented itself and we heard the direction Sumner Roots were heading with their music, we knew it was a fit. These guys have a wealth of talent and will continue their success as a major part of our roster” –Kyle Favors, President of Thermal Entertainment, LLC.

Sumner Roots are due to release their debut album in Spring 2018.

Secrets stream new track ‘Five Years’

US post-hardcore band Secrets have streamed a new track ahead of their European and UK tour.

First streaming via Rock Sound, you can now listen to Five Years via YouTube:

Tour dates:

22/11/2017 – London UK, Boston Music Room*
23/11/2017 – Manchester UK, Satans Hollow*
24/11/2017 – Northampton UK, Roadmender*
25/11/2017 – Bridgend UK, Hobos*
26/11/2017 – Bristol UK, The Lanes*
27/11/2017 – Bournemouth UK, The Anvil*
28/11/2017 – Eindhoven NL, Dynamo^
29/11/2017 – Leipzig DE, Naumanns^
30/11/2017 – Berlin DE, Maze Club^
01/12/2017 – Wroclaw PL, DK Luksus^
02/12/2017 – Prague CZ, Klub 007^
03/12/2017 – Budapest HU, A38^
04/12/2017 – Vienna AT, Arena^
05/12/2017 – Munich DE, Backstage^
06/12/2017 – Milan IT, Circle Svolta^
07/12/2017 – Aarau CH, Kiff^
08/12/2017 – Tessenderlo BE, The Box^
09/12/2017 – Bochum DE, Matrix^

* support from Shields
^support from Our Hollow, Our Home

Gardenhead release ‘Perpetual Motion’

Performing under his new name Gardenhead, singer-songwriter Casey Bolles has released a brand new single called Perpetual Motion. Bolles has partnered with to debut the track.

I wrote Perpetual Motion when I was staying with some friends in Philly at a time in my life when I felt like I had nowhere that really felt like home and I was spending a lot of time wasting time. I recorded a few different versions, most of which were pretty bare bones. Eventually I took the song to a studio session in MA. Alan and I spent a lot of time trying to come up with interesting drum sounds and eventually decided to just make the exact sounds we were looking for which resulted in us standing in a kitchen with microphones, rhythmically throwing a set of keys around and slapping books together. This ended up being what we used for the final version.” – Casey Bolles

Tour dates can be expected to be announced in 2018.

Greyhaven have revealed video, EP and UK tour!

UK heavy alt-rockers Greyhaven unleash dense riffs and deliver energetic performances in anticipation of their EP release. The Londoners’ towering sound nods to everyone from 30 Seconds To Mars, Don Broco and Alexisonfire. Greyhaven have announced their blistering new EP Breathe, via Outsider Records, on Friday 12th January 2018, and before then, the band drop the new video, Truth.

The group are on tour with As Lions this month and can be seen at the following venues:
14th November – Firebug, Leicester
15th November – The Waterfront, Norwich
16th November – The Old Blue, Last London
18th November – Hobos, Bridgend
19th November – Jumpin Jacks, Newcastle
20th November – The Garage attic, Glasgow
22nd November – Sugarmill, Stoke
23rd November – Rebellion, Manchester
24th November – The Key Club, Leeds.

Borders release video for ‘Watch The World Burn’

Lincoln tech-metallers Borders have released a video for their brand new single Watch The World Burn, the group’s first new material since the release of their Diagnosed EP earlier in 2017.

Borders are currently out on the road supporting Martyr Defiled on their European farewell tour, before they return to the UK to appear at Techabilitation.

Live dates:

10.11.2017 – Zug CH, Industrie 45 (w/ Martyr Defiled)
11.11.2017 – Tournai BE, Port’Ouverte (w/ Martyr Defiled)
12.11.2017 – Essen DE, Don’t Panic (w/ Martyr Defiled)
13.11.2017 – Berlin DE, Cassiopeia (w/ Martyr Defiled)
14.11.2017 – Gothenburg SE, Fangelset (w/ Martyr Defiled)
15.11.2017 – Hamburg DE, Bar 227 (w/ Martyr Defiled)
16.11.2017 – Leipzig DE, 4Rooms (w/ Martyr Defiled)
17.11.2017 – Erfurt DE, From Hell (w/ Martyr Defiled)
18.11.2017 – Mannheim DE, Vogelstang (w/ Martyr Defiled)

26.11.2017 – London UK, New Cross Inn (Techabilitation)

Heidevolk release first details of their upcoming album

Heidevolk have released details of their upcoming album, including the title and the artwork.

Veer van Verzet is set to be released on 12th January 2018 via Napalm Records.

We are excited to announce our long-awaited new album “Vuur van Verzet” (“Fire of Resistance”). An album that catapults you to a battlefield where a failing Roman empire is retreating and Germanic tribes are on the rise to claim back what is theirs. It will guide you through the great migrations and tell the tale of early traditions, gods and nature. We’ve fitted these stories in 11 songs that emphasize the characteristic Heidevolk sound but also underline the progression of our songwriting. Fast metal riffing combined with a our trademark dual male vocals, a 24 piece male choir, various folk musicians, a string ensemble and the raw guest vocals of Primordials’ Nemtheanga make “Vuur van Verzet” an album that shows its a bombastic way. Join us, the Pagan Metal Brotherhood is on the rise!” 
– Heidevolk

Vuur van Verzet track listing:
1. Ontwaakt
2. A Wolf In My Heart
3. Onverzetbaar
4. Yngwaz Zonen
5. Britannia
6. The Alliance
7. Tiwaz
8. Het Oneindige Woud
9. Gungnir
10. Woedend
11. Het Juk der Tijd
12. Drink op de Nacht (Bonus Track)
13. Een Wolf in mijn Hart (Bonus Track)Available formats:
1 CD 6-pages Digipack incl. 24 pages booklet
1 LP Gatefold, black and limited golden vinyl
Ltd Edition Album Bundle incl. 6-pages Digipack, Leather wristband, flag, patch
Digital Album Download