Monster Truck Announce Their New Album True Rockers

Monster Truck have announced their new album True Rockers is set for release 14th September 2018 via Mascot Records/Mascot Label Group. This will be the bands first release in 2 years since their previous album Sittin’ Heavy. The new album will be produced by Dan Weller (SikTh, Young Guns, Enter Shikari). The album was recorded at Echo Mountain Studios at Asheville, North Carolina.

Frontman/bassist John ‘Marv’ Harvey states: “When the inspiration strikes, use it, if you’re not gonna use it, you’re wasting it, as soon as you think of something could be a good song, work on it, immediately. Inspiration is so valuable. We want people to listen to it and have fun, have as much fun as possible.”

Yeah, that’s what I was gonna say too,” adds guitarist Jeremy Widerman. “I mean right off the beginning of the album you hear me scream at Marv. That just kicks off the entire vibe of the album. Us in a room, having fun, joking and yelling at each other.”

True Rocker is a statement of intent and features Twisted Sister vocalist Dee Snider. John Harvey states: “He’s a true rocker, who’s more perfect than Dee Snider.”

When describing Thundertruck Harvey goes onto state: “We had worked on that with me playing that lead part, and it left a big gaping hole in the heaviness of the song. Once we shifted that line over to the organ, we were like, this is awesome.”

Award winning producers Gavin Brown and Maia Davies helped work on the tracks Evolution, Young City Hearts and Hurricane.  Harvey says: “We had a chance to work with some hit makers so we took the chance, and what came out is different than anything we have done. Gavin and Maia were fantastic to work with. It added a lot of colour to the record and allowed us the opportunity to take a risk and branch out a little, it almost wouldn’t be a Monster Truck record if we didn’t reach the supposed end of the process and then double-back to track a few extra songs in order to strengthen what was already a strong record to us. “

Harvey has since become a father since Monster Truck’s last record and this has impacted the songwriting significantly. True Rockers is more so a statement of intent with Harvey explaining: “True Rockers’ is the sound of a band letting lose and having fun. We want people to listen to it and have fun, have as much fun as possible.”

Next year will be the bands 10th anniversary Harvey reminisces: “I think you have to know where you came from, otherwise how do you know where you’re going. You can’t forget your roots, we started from such a pure place of just a party. I literally couldn’t ask for anything better. How am I so lucky that I get to do this, perseverance pays off.”

Jeremy Wideman adds: “Looking back to the beginning I think in a way, I knew it, I really did. Within the first couple of rehearsals we ever did. I always think back to how I knew this was something different to anything else I’d ever done. It was weird because I had to manage how excited I was, we all agreed that this wasn’t gonna be a band that signs a record deal and goes on tour. I was like, holy shit, this is better than anything I’ve ever done before. How am I going to convince these guys to go with it? I know who I am, A true rocker, I am a true rocker, I feel the music from inside baby, from within, I’m good to go on just about anything, No time for brakes we move full speed ahead, I know who I am, a true rocker”

Track Listing:
1. True Rocker
2. Thundertruck
3. Evolution
4. Devil Don’t Care
5. Being Cool Is Over
6. Young City Heart
7. Undone
8. In My Own World
9. Denim Danger
10. Hurricane
11. The Howlin’
The band is set to play at this years Download Festival on Saturday 9th June.


Previous ArticleNext Article
I'm a metal fan that gets pumped about most music. I am also into Punk but not as heavily bands, I sort of like include; Sunn O))), The Dillinger Escape Plan, The Exploited and Amon Amarth. I also like comedic music such as Alestorm, Psychostick and Evil Scarecrow

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *