A Story Told unveil ‘All of You’ music video

Alt-pop band A Story Told are an emotionally driven, irresistibly catchy 5-piece who have come back out with their debut full-length Keep Watch.

Their debut full-length is a 10-track effort that struts along the intersection of pop and rock with similarities to The Dangerous Summer and PVRIS. From the debut, the band have unveiled their latest music video release of All of You today. The track details personal strife within a relationship, the moment it goes toxic and when one person can’t give their whole heart then falls out of love. The band explains: “everyone wants to love and be loved and knowing you aren’t receiving 100% of that persona’s efforts takes a mental and physical toll on you.”

Listen to the track below:

The band are also going on a mini tour in July:

01/7/2016 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Black Forge Coffee House
02/7/2016 – Indianapolis, IN @ The Irving Theatre
03/7/2016 – Louisville, KY @ Spinelli’s Downtown
15/7/2016 – Burgettstown, PA @ Vans Warped Tour
29/7/2016 – Charleston, WV @ Live on the Levee

Capsize debut ‘Tear Me Apart’

Capsize are making huge waves with their upcoming material, and the new track they have released is no different. Featuring Brendan Murphy from Counterparts, the energetic new track Tear Me Apart has been released alongside its video.

Vocalist Daniel Wand says: “This one goes out to anyone that has ever felt doubted or discouraged by their family or friends, while trying to pursue something that means everything to them. For this album, I wanted to write lyrics that I felt like I needed to hear, or would have liked to have heard at certain times in my life that I have only just recently worked through enough to put into words. The title represents what the album does for the band, and me personally. It’s a reintroduction of who we are as a band, in reference to the things that have led to this point in my life.”

The album is titled A Reintroduction: The Essence Of All That Surrounds Me and will be released on 22nd July via Rude Records. Preorders available here for vinyl and here for digital.


The Kenneths launch new track ‘All Cried Out’

London punks The Kenneths have been on a steep increase in popularity after appearing at Warped UK last year including support slots for artists even as big as Anti-Flag and Less Than Jake, and this is reflected in new single All Cried Out.

The track was produced by Bill Stevenson (DescendantsBlack Flag), and marks a shift to a more produced sound than they’ve had in earlier releases.

Warped Tour guru Kevin Lyman said: “The Kenneths are a reincarnation of what got me into punk rock in the first place, I had to book them the first time I heard them.” High praise from the man who is at the top of the scene’s booking game today!

Hear the track below:

Real Friends – The Home Inside My Head

Pop punk prodigies Real Friends are back with their second angsty full-length, The Home Inside My Head.

The release comes as the follow-up to July 2014 album Maybe This Place Is The Same… and 2015 EP More Acoustic Songs and marks their third piece of output coming from Fearless Records after signing in December 2013.

The record follows more or less the same path they were following; it has a seriously emotional lyric style from bassist/lyricist Kyle Fasel yet an upbeat and energetic instrumental and vocal melody which brings out a meaning in the words being sung that may not be explored in another manner.

Lead singles Colder QuickerScared To Be Alone and Mess were the best possible options for single releases as they summed up perfectly what the record is about with their distinctive style to let the fans know this record wasn’t going to be the typical “average second” produced by a lot of pop punk bands in the modern market. By no means are they the most technical band ever, they still have that rough-around-the-edges feel that keeps their identity so seperate from anyone else, and these guys really are at the pioneering end of the new wave emo/pop punk revival.

Vocally, second single Scared To Be Alone is the most revealing with its dropping Dan in at the deep end from 0:22-0:33 which even includes a falsetto, which is relatively rare in their past discography but shows the frontman isn’t only talented in shouting and jumping about as he demonstrates most of the rest of the time.

“I’m writing the same song over and over again” (from fifth track Mokena) seems to play true really in terms of repeating the sound of their other records directly but frankly, if it isn’t failing them there’s surely no need to change! They use this to their advantage as they have since the very first EP back in 2011 with their roughness and emotive lyrics, although they have clearly gotten better musicians (noticable through their improved mixing and slightly more polished sound) which plays for the same type of record as their others within their catalogue.

Top picks are Mokena for it’s breaking the fourth wall and the slowed tempo while staying catchy (quite possibly a new encore/set-closer), Mess for its true-to-style writing more than any other on the record and Colder Quicker for adding the perfect close to the record which by no means tails off.

The best video of the tracks released so far though has to go to Mess which was recorded on the $5 US tour they did recently to prove bands can do tiny shows for tiny prices to say thank you, however big they may be:

Finally for those of you wondering, there is not a single mention of “boney knees” anywhere within the 12 tracks!

Overall, the album is a fantastic follow-up to Maybe This Place Is The Same… and keeps them definitely on the road to superstardom within the music industry.

The Home Inside My Head hits stores this Friday (27/05/16)


And, of course, catch the band as Slam Dunk Festival this weekend, it should be a stunner of a set…