Wild Nothing Announces His New Album Indigo

Wild Nothing Los Angeles based musician Jack Tatum’s has announced the groups fourth album Indigo will be released on 31st August via Captured Track. The new single Letting Go is available for listening below

Indigo is written utilizing the artful mechanisms of the human touch with precise technology to allow Tatum to create the sound he was looking for his entire career. The new album matches Wild Nothing’s transcendent sweep on Gemini (2010) with the lessons and creative steps added from Nocturne and Life Of Pause. 

Tatum wrote pieces on guitar and keyboards “in the box” with plug ins and programs. He wrote a series of highly detailed demos sent them to record with a live band in the studio to get a rough 1980’s sound. Tatum said: “I wanted it to sound like a classic studio record, as close as I could get it there. It just boils down to me wanting to fit into some larger narrative, musically, in terms of these artists I love, I think about how my music will age. Ideas of ‘timeless’ are going to be different—so if Indigo is not timeless then it’s at least ‘out of time.’”

Tatum booked out 4 days at Sunset Sound’s Studio and hired drummer Cam Allen and guitarist Benji Lysaght to track the record whilst Tatum played bass. Producer Jorge Ellbrecht (Ariel Pink, Gang Gang Dance, Japanese Breakfast) helped build Wild Nothing’s album sound. The pair mixed the album in Denver in ten days after which Tatum took it back to his Glassel Park studio for polishing.

Indigo Tracklist:

  1. Letting Go
  2. Oscillation
  3. Partners In Motion
  4. Wheel of Misfortune
  5. Shallow Water
  6. Through Windows
  7. The Closest Thing To Living
  8. Dollhouse
  9. Canyon on Fire
  10. Flawed Translation
  11. Bend

Pre orders for the album are available -HERE-.


Now Wave’s All Dayer II – Live Review – The White Hotel

Sweat opened up the night with a set that was almost euphoric. From start to finish they had the crowd involved getting them moving to every song no matter the pace or tone. The first two songs in their set created an ambiance that followed through to the end of the last track Be Complete. With an almost shoegaze feel, the band moved the audience with a powerful performance and instrumentation, especially during what was the best track of their set Acid Rainbow. [7]

Kelly Lee Owens followed and with her hauntingly beautiful voice the entirety of the room seemed to echo through to the end of her set. Her effortless ability to shift through notes and key changes complimented the accompanying use of electronic instrumentation that lined her entire set. Overall, she presented a set which was very juxtaposing to the rest of the bands, but it made her stand out from the crowd especially when she played her fourth track of the night 1 of 3 [7]

Philadelphia based Japanese Breakfast were one of the two highlights of the evening. Presenting what was the tightest set of the night, Michelle Zauner and the rest of her band never missed a beat with the crowd. Japanese Breakfast never had a dull moment where a track didn’t land in the way they had clearly intended.

Starting off with Heft, the crowd instantly got in to the set and stayed intrigued all the way through to Jane Cum, easily their best track of the night, and even on to the end of Machinist. From instrumentation to vocals, this set was flawless. [9]

Let’s Eat Grandma are a duo from Norwich who had been on Jules Holland on the 18th. They produced a magical set with their own brand of Psychedelic Sludge Pop. From the start of Deep Six Textbook it was clear this set was going to be one to watch, as the multi-instrumentalists glided through a short set of five tracks. Through the set the two harmonized with perfection and despite minor slip ups the two kept the audience moving and engaged with songs like Rapunzel and Sink. [8]

Pumarosa rounded off the evening with a very shoe-gazed set. The band from London created quite a powerful atmosphere with their set and pulled the crowds attention quickly with Dragonfly. Isabel’s vocals were one of the main selling points to their set alongside their clever instrumentation, especially during the track Honey.

Pumarosa continued to create a powerful performance and connect with the crowd during songs like The Witch and Red, until their set reached its climax during Priestess. Overall the band created the second best set of the entire evening which allowed the event to simmer down to what it was, an evening focused on the music. [9]