Jools Holland Releases Instrumental Album “Piano” On December 2nd

Jools Holland will release a new album based upon his 50 year relationship with the Piano. The new album will explore different piano styles and piano’s through the instrumental album due for release 2nd December via East West Records.

The album includes a collaboration with iconic musician and producer Brian Eno who sings backing vocals and experiments with soundscapes on the track Last Date. The album will also be overseen by Jools’ long-time producer Laurie Latham and see’s Jools’ acclaimed Rhythm And Blues Orchestra on Strange Cargo, Romantic Ruin and Bumble Boogie (where he quotes Bach’s Prelude Number 1).

Earlier this year Jools Holland played a surprise session at London’s St Pancras International Station on a piano donated by Elton John. He improvised around Bang And Pop, Bumble Boogie and Last Date which can all be viewed now on YouTube.

The record features 8 of Jools‘ compositions along with 10 selected pieces interpreting the work of the piano artists and composers he loves. Opening with his own May he is inspired by French composer Olivier Messiaen who listened to Bird Song to inspire him. Jools and Sting wrote Grand Hotel, it is reinvented on this album however with a mix of contemporary dance rhythms and stride piano. He mixes the Baroque styling of Christabel to the Boogie-Woogie sound of Bang And Pop Jools Holland’s style is something that is unmistakable.

Some covers he chooses are; Mary Lou Williams, Sidney Bechet, Freddie Slack and Erroll Garner. There is a four piece blues section in the album inspired by Jimmy Yancey and Lloyd Glenn included within the album. Jools Holland also covers Dr John’s Dorothy and Focus’s Eruption.

Jools’ learnt to play by the age of 8 through ear and by the time he reached his early teens, he was confident to play many pubs in South East London and the East End Docks. He went onto play with acts like Amy Winehouse and Eric Clapton, and presented a two part documentary entitled Jools’ History Of The Piano (2002). He is also the leader and pianist of the Rhythm and Blues Orchestra. 

Jools Holland is on tour in the UK until the end of December and his 19 piece ensemble will be back in May and June of 2017, this tour will feature the vocals of Louise Marshall, Beth Rowley and Ruby Turner. His Rhythm and Blues Orchestra will play a variety of genres including; ska, rhythm and blues and boogie woogie elements people love about Jools’ music.

Tickets are available now. 

More information can be found at Jools Holland’s official website. 

‘Piano’ Tracklisting

  1. May
  2. Grand Hotel
  3. Last Date
  4. Bumble Boogie
  5. Dorothy
  6. Eruption
  7. Upright And Grand
  8. Christabel
  9. Midnight Hour Blues
  10. I Had It but It’s All Gone Now
  11. How Long Blues
  12. Blue Lamp
  13. Romantic Ruin
  14. Bang And Pop
  15. Strange Cargo
  16. Red Ragtime
  17. Roll ‘Em
  18. I’m In The Mood For Love

Jools Holland’s Piano will be released December 2nd