Sleeping With Sirens Drop New Track

With their upcoming album Gossip well on the way to it’s September release date (22nd if you’re interested), Sleeping With Sirens have released a new single titled Empire To Ashes. Punchy, with a bouncy chorus this track is pure SWS, arguably with more pop influence than their older material but unmistakably them. Check out Empire To Ashes below:

Of Gossip frontman Kellin Quinn had the following to say:

“We finally captured the live experience with Bendeth. We have the production, but there’s a rawness that comes through. Musically, I feel like it’s the first Sirens record that sounds specifically like us. We took chances, experimented, and continued to do what we do best: create art. It’s something new. It has an authentic sound that we’ve been working towards all this time.”

Catch the band on their upcoming support slots for the Rise Against tour:

Vanishing Life – Surveillance

Vanishing Life, the musical child of Walter Schreifels (Gorilla Biscuits, Rival Schools, Quicksand), Autry Fulbright II (…And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead), Jamie Miller (Bad Religion) and Zach Blair (Rise Against), are releasing their debut album Surveillance on 4th December via Dine Alone Records.

Surveillance opens with a grimy bass line in Realist, before launching into a track with influences from old school punk, but with a modern twist.

Outlier is a typical post-hardcore song; the roots of the song are a basic 4/4 beat with a repetitive riff, however the different layers bring in subtle intricacy. Outlier is followed by 17, an interlude track made of sound art rather than instruments, and a nice break from the first two heavier tracks.

It is clear that a lot of different styles are at play in creating Surveillance, and Vanishing Life have somehow managed to make them all work together rather than clash. The entire album is filled with post-hardcore energy.

Seven Pointed Star sounds like a heavier version of a typical U2 track, but with more punk undertones. Pretty Ruined also sounds this way, however it starts off a lot grimier, much like Realist.

Vanishing Life

At the halfway point of the album, the tracks start to sound like the same average post-hardcore song. However, the songs are enjoyable, and the listener can imagine a gig held by Vanishing Life would be an exciting, large, sweaty mosh pit.

The next obviously different track is Thinking Weightless. With a catchy chorus of “get on up”, Thinking Weightless would be a great choice for a single.

16, the penultimate track on Surveillance, makes the listener imagine how Outer Space would sound. It is a great lead into Big Other, which carries on with the otherworldly sound, particularly brought out by the guitars. It is another track which would make a fantastic single.

Surveillance is an album made by a group of undeniably fantastic and talented musicians who have managed to make a piece of art out of their individual styles melding together. Although a lot of the songs sound quite samey, there are some great tracks in the album which stand out above all the others. Since there were two interlude tracks in the album, a third may have been a good idea since the listener might start to get bored around the middle of the album, and it would just break things up nicely.


Vanishing Life release new song ‘Thinking Is Weightless’

Bringing something punk fuelled, exciting and will definitely get people excited, Vanishing Life are back into the fold with more joy towards their upcoming release ‘Surveillance‘. Full of influences like Black Flag and Rise Against as well as old school punk rock, ‘Thinking Is Weightless‘ is a song that could be a main staple of their show setlist. Check out the track below!

Despite Everything – Trails EP [REVIEW]

After doing a few 7 inches, a few splits and releasing their debut record back in 2014, this punk rock quartet from Athens are getting ready to bring some more music back into your lives. Their newest EP, titled ‘Trails’, carries on where they left off a few years ago and it shows no signs of the group slowing down at all.

The first half of the EP kicks off with big punk guitar riffs and a strong vocal performance. ‘Tangled Lines’ is the first track you are treated to off the record and its definitely a positive note for the band to begin. It gives off that side of Alexisonfire with the guitar melodies and key with the Hot Water Music element of structure and vocal tone. Moving on with ‘Dead Weight’, the speed picks up and with that, follows a teensy bit more aggression within the song. The choruses work well with each guitar player helping boost each other. The drums are also a nice touch by not going overcomplicated with the patterns and following something simple that works. ‘Jokes On You’ keeps this up, focusing more on the melodies within the guitar/vocals. The gruff cleans have a strong reminder of the 90’s punk music wave that burst through and adds a really nice nostalgic touch.

Onto the second half and it follows the same road as it did from the previous songs. ‘My Day’ kicks straight into it and flows very nicely. The buildup around halfway through the track was a really nice touch and grips you nicely leading to the third act of the track. Moving into a little bit of different territory with ‘Watered Down’, it slows the pace back to the same speed of the first track and has a bit more of a summery feel in its wake. Whilst keeping the same tradition of the EP feel, it works as a great transition to the final song on record ‘High And Dry’. The guitars are shown off a lot more with a melodically charged forefront to the track and the hearing of the bass tones rumble underneath. As the rest of this track progresses, you’re treated to more classic Despite Everything with more punk rock power and a great way to close this solid EP.

With six tracks of undeniable modern punk, the band take something that sounds very generic in many cases and make something flow a lot more naturally. A few blemishes on this otherwise positive piece of art.


Released: 18th November 2016
For Fans Of: Alexisonfire / Hot Water Music / Rise Against
Label: Lockjaw Records