The Flatliners sign to Rise, announce UK/EU tour

Canadian outfit The Flatliners have signed to Rise Records today ahead of a tour also announced today. The tour will be alongside The Menzingers and you can see the dates below. They are also set to release a full-length in the first half of next year. Check the band out on Facebook here.

UK dates:

Tue 18 Apr Southampton, UK @ Talking Heads

Wed 19 Apr London, UK @ Koko

Thu 20 Apr Bristol, UK @ Bierkeller

Fri 21 Apr Manchester, UK @ Academy 2

Sat 22 Apr Glasgow, UK @ Oran Mor

Sun 23 Apr Derby, UK @ The Venue

Mon 24 Apr Norwich, UK @ Epic Studios

European dates:

Wed 26 Apr Cologne, DE @ Underground

Thu 27 Apr Berlin, DE @ Musik & Frieden

Fri 28 Apr Munster, DE @ Uncle M event

Sat 29 Apr Meerhout, BE @ Groezrock Festival

Also, check out their latest track Hang My Head:


Mothership Dance Gavin Dance DGD

Dance Gavin Dance – Mothership

Opening track Chucky vs. The Giant Tortoise sets the tone well for Mothership in its entirety: a wacky premise yet some moments of real quality that show why Dance Gavin Dance have survived over a decade, as it is now.  The clean vocals show from the off Tillian Pearson will be on form in this release and the tapped/sweeping leads of Will Swan bring the auditory mania for which the band have become known over the last decade.

A lot of the tracks have a lot more of a pop feel to the clean vocals than a lot of DGD material previous to Mothership. Tracks like Inspire The Liars and Young Robot have sections that could easily have been devised by Tyler Carter of Issues or even a modern hip hop artist in their own right. The best example of this is closing track Man of the Year, which holds real lyrical gravity sing/raps in the verse add fantastic melody to what would be an uninspiring tune without. The addition of the soulful sections bring an added depth to tracks that would have been otherwise slightly vanilla.

However, the true ability of Tillian Pearson is best displayed in the fifth track Deception: the opening features a strong solo vocal which resonates with the listener strongly. This contrasts to his belted (and sometimes even fried) vocals later on to show his clear versatility, and when coupled with Jon Mess’ aggressive overlays it makes for a good quality mixture. On top of the vocals, the breakdown here is excellent and the controlled shifting between calm and fury shows the duplicitous sound of the band better than the rest of the album. It is a clear marker that this record is another step up from last year’s Instant Gratification.

Here Comes The Winner takes the crown of ‘Best Track’, and standing at 4:47 is also the longest one on the record. It bears clean vocals that stretch Pearson’s range like few others on the album, screams that must have nearly pulled Jon Mess’ lungs out in the studio, multiple lead guitar parts to harmonise with one another to add a depth to the vocal melodies, and a rhythm section that keeps a chugging rhythm ongoing to keep the track well-grounded as a whole. This track is one of the better post-hardcore releases of the year, and it is a shame the band have not yet released this ahead of the full-album.

Other notable mentions go to second single Betrayed By The Game which again shows the sheer power of both voices behind the band, and Chocolate Jackalope which has one of the best guitar parts of any track the band have ever released.

Overall, an enjoyable album with some moments of real promise and others proving Dance Gavin Dance are a well-seasoned act in the studio setting. They are clearly progressing their sound further and further with each release and becoming more unique with it. The brutality/mellow contrast is what defines this record’s sound and differentiates it from any other band at the moment.

Preorder the album on iTunes, Google Play for digitals, or MerchNow for physical, with the release date set for next Friday (7th October).

Dance Gavin Dance reveal Mothership’s first single

After yet another quick turnaround, Dance Gavin Dance have released a new track from their upcoming seventh full-length Mothership, set for a 7th October release via Rise Records.

Chucky Vs. The Giant Tortoise is the lead single from the LP, which is projected to be the band’s sixth consecutive Billboard 200-charting album and shows the band are continuing with their experimental fusion sound that defines their past catalogue.

Hear the single below:

The band are also on tour through the UK/EU in support of Mothership and to commemorate their 10th Anniversary so check out the dates and pay them a visit:

Thu 3-Nov UK Oxford O2 Academy2
Fri 4-Nov UK Brighton The Haunt
Sat 5-Nov UK Birmingham Institute3
Sun 6-Nov UK Southampton Engine Rooms
Tue 8-Nov UK Nottingham Rescue Rooms
Wed 9-Nov UK Newcastle O2 Academy2
Thu 10-Nov UK Manchester Sound Control
Fri 11-Nov UK Glasgow Garage
Sat 12-Nov UK Leeds The Key Club
Mon 14-Nov UK Cardiff The Globe
Tue 15-Nov UK Bristol The Fleece
Wed 16-Nov UK London Underworld
Fri 18-Nov Germany Cologne Underground
Sat 19-Nov Germany Hamburg Headcrash
Sun 20-Nov Germany Berlin Musik & Frieden
Tue 22-Nov Germany Munich Strom
Wed 23-Nov Germany Frankfurt Nachtleben
Fri 25-Nov Netherlands Haarlem Patronaat
Sat 26-Nov Netherlands Eindhoven Dynamo

Cane Hill premiere video for ‘You’re So Wonderful’

Cane Hill have been getting their name out and about including an appearance at Slam Dunk before their album release in July, continuing with the release of the video for new song You’re So Wonderful.

The album is to hit shelves 15th July and it will be their debut full length, as well as their first Rise Records release. The band are going off on Warped Tour playing their first date today, so releasing the video to coincide with this commencing.

Watch the brutal new video here:

Hands Like Houses Have A New Video

Aussie rockers Hands Like Houses have released the next video in their catalogue, for Degrees Of Separation from their new record Dissonants.

The song was written by Versa‘s Blake Harnage (who also acts as an engineer on the whole record) and PVRIS‘ Lynn Gunn, which reflects in the electronic-influenced pop-rock sound which is very much reminiscent of a PVRIS song, only with vocals from Trenton.

All in all, the video is pretty imaginative and one of the best they have come out with so give it a watch!

Dissonants was released worldwide on February 26th 2016 through Rise Records.