No Zodiac – Altars Of Impurity [REVIEW]

As the band have gone through various changes, No Zodiac are looking to cement this lineup as something fully solidified as the new era of the group and for their hardcore/deathcore sound. ‘Altars Of Impurity’ is the third album from the band and its a new time to show the world what they’re bringing to the table.

The band opens with ‘Santisima Muerte’ which opens up very melodically before going balls to the wall with is heavy qualities. One thing you immediately tell is the sound has a lot more of a polished gravitas to it compared to the last few releases that has been brought to the bands discography with a move away from the gritty sound that has been present. The band still bring that aggression in spades as the record moves into tracks ‘River Of Hypocrisy’ which pushes more of the groove element of their music and ‘Sigil Of Aciel’ which goes on more of a death metal influence with the tremolo picking and drum patterns throughout the majority of the track. It definitely moves into a newer sound that the band are hitting all over the map to create something not necessarily unique, but standing out from their own crowd and having something that feels like a modernised No Zodiac record.

The band continue the onslaughts with ‘Corroded Soul’ which gives you more glimpses into the bands character and throws in a few solos for good measure over a darker element that they provide as moving into ‘The Tribulation’ gives off that classic deathcore/slam vibe with the palm muted chords and use of the ride cymbal to their advantage. Further down the list you have ‘Swine’ which goes back to the same flavour of songs like ‘Constant Decay’ with the same pounding beatdown style of aggression with a deathcore twinge that flows through the veins of the track. ‘Penance’ is most certainly the track to get your head banging with the strumming pattern being a really solid staple of the track and the low screams coming through. The second half of the track goes back into hardcore/deathcore territory with a mosh friendly instrumentation with added double bass and guest vocals from Suburban Scum’s vocalist.

This whole album is a stronger push with their sound and gives you an idea of where the band are going to be setting their sights for. ‘Altars Of Impurity’ is a great blend of deathcore and hardcore with a penchant for headbanging and whilst it might not be the band you remember before, they’ve got a few ways to make you remember them now.


No Zodiac release new song/video titled ‘Santisima Muerte’

It might not be what you’re used to from No Zodiac, but they’re bring a much more death metal/deathcore vibe along with their new material. With their upcoming release in April titled ‘Altars Of Impurity‘ set to be the love/hate record of their arsenal, it will no doubt have something heavy to bring to the table.

Check out their new song ‘Santisima Muerte‘ below!

Face Your Maker – Ego : Death [REVIEW]

It’s time for some heavy ass deathcore to burst onto the scene from Los Angeles own Face Your Maker. Their upcoming release is set to burn a fire under the up and coming deathcore scene with newer bands now having a target to hit thanks to this new record.

Already with the first track they know how to make their presence. ‘Rubicon’ starts off with an eerie guitar lead much like Thy Art Is Murder did with ‘Reign Of Darkness’ before throwing in the rhythm with a choppy and chuggy riff to bring that well known deathcore open note carnage. The bass guitar grumbles through at some points with a higher end tone than usual right near the end before they fly into ‘Kings Amongst Thieves’ and go on a breakdown bonanza! Some of the guitar patterns follow that of slam with the slow paced guitar pattern followed by a blast beat on the drums, showing they can incorporate any heavy style they need be. It’s definitely a great way to get you into this band as around halfway, they throw in such a disgusting breakdown its reminiscent of the 00’s era deathcore intertwined with the destructive showings of grindcore.

It seems their goal with this album was simple; Bring something heavy and bring something violent, to which they’ve achieved those goals tremendously. Track titles such as ‘Assassination Proclamation’ you should feel come with a warning sticker for what you’re about to witness as the band aren’t afraid to throw anything and everything at you to show you how they’re going to make a name for themselves, whether it be from powerful speed to sections that would fit in nicely at an Oceano show. Then you have tracks that seemingly take on a sort of downtempo persona with ‘Dark Daze’ for the most part going as slow as a snail, but being more violent than ever! You can see that this album isn’t afraid of pushing itself out there to have something that could be added to a gym playlist as well as dubbed over a video of people fighting.

Some great highlights on the record are the songs that seemingly take its on trend and separate itself quite nicely and give the album such vibrance. ‘Trauma’ has a really nice bounce to it and doesn’t try to go out of its way to be extreme in parts, especially when the more melodic lead comes into play and gives the whole track a new lease on life. Also what was a nice surprise was the instrumental album closer that sticks out like a sore thumb. Titled ‘Reflection’, the instrumentation don’t try and destroy you, but more give you a nice way to calm yourself right at the end. It was a weird pleasure hearing this and wouldn’t feel out of place if the band decided to attempt some clean vocals cover the track.

Overall, an amazing and crushing debut record which caters and provides for many fans not just in the deathcore scene, but for those who stray outside those boundaries and look for something a bit more than what they usually expect. A superbly heavy album to end your 2016 with.


The Last Ten Seconds Of Life release new song/video ‘Little Black Line’

As the band have progressed further and further, The Last Ten Seconds Of Life seem to be hitting a very big stride now with this new album coming out on October 21st. With just over a week until release, they’ve dropped a new song titled ‘Little Black Line‘ to give you a taste of their clean vocals and groove prowess below.

They will be coming over to the EU/UK for the first time ever with Within The Ruins and more. Check out the full lineup and dates below for more information.