sleepmakeswaves – Made Of Breath Only [REVIEW]

Post rock is a beautiful genre when you look at the entire scope of things. From the way the melodies are structured and aligned to the elegance of the entire instrumentation, its a great way to get into something that, being mostly instrumental, can feel relaxing as well as stimulating. Enter sleepmakeswaves from Australia who are here to show you their latest musical creation ‘Made Of Breath Only

The ten minute behemoth to open the record is a perfect example of post rock in a nutshell. ‘The Edge Of Everything’ encompasses so many features and musical notions about the group and the music as it builds and collapses with the guitars and electronics being a centrepiece for the most part. With the time signatures flowing through in and out of the band as well as the entire focus of the sound being all about the little nuances that makes its way into the crevices and when the song fully goes into its element, you will find it hard to find room to breathe. ‘Glacial’ comes through with heavy reverb for the intro before the rest of the band coast through with a minimal amount of variations. Coming across very strongly like Deftones’ more atmospheric material, the band create something with so little that sounds like it could feel arenas with ease with the gripping lead guitar parts laying over the top so snug.

The band continue this amazing assault on the senses with ‘Hailstones’ which seems to use random clips and reverse effects before it starts feeling dreamy. Again, the fact that the track sounds so entrancing whilst not going too overboard with string use separates it from the long opener that it feels cosy amongst the rest of the songs. The bass and acoustic guitar get some love through the 9 minutes that it plays through. The album still continues to impress with more experimentation and more uses of instruments, with a note being for the title track that opens with electronic glitch noises accompanied by soft piano, before the violins start to creep into the fold. It’s a track that leaves the distortion at the door and focuses so much more on the melodies that its a different experience through each headphone.

The record keeps everything going on an audio extravaganza even towards the end with the shortest song on the record ‘Our Days Were’ which, in its one hundred second span, is a sublime way to blend into ‘To Light And Then Return’ which goes back into full band mode with the guitar chording and selective riff sections that provide another solid point that the band continues to bring back to the table with sections that sound positive yet with an underlining menace about them which gets brought more to life when the electronic elements shine through. ‘Tundra’ fills the penultimate album track with more synth uses and the band bringing more oomph within the almost six minute gripping listen. It’s enjoyable to hear that the band is really able to collide so many different elements with ease as well as go from full band ferocity into a minimalist haven so smoothly, which is also shown off in the closer ‘Worlds Apart’ which ends the album on a ridiculously high note.

This album is one that takes you on such a crazy ride and shows off yet again the presentation aspect of post rock with intricate precision. sleepmakeswaves have hit the nail on the head with everything that they needed to and then some, creating an audible masterpiece that takes you on a crazy journey from start to finish. An album that you need to listen to, no matter what you like!

 

[10/10]

SLEEPMAKESWAVES Announce New Single, 2017 Tour and New Album

Sleepmakeswaves have announced they will release their new album and have released the track “Tundra” online which was first played on triple j radio this week.

Listen to “Tundra” below

https://sleepmakeswaves.bandcamp.com/

Sleepmakeswaves have announced multiple tours in different countries, with more to come. Check out the dates below

Australian tour w/Underoath (USA)

Fri Feb 10 – Eatons Hill, Brisbane QLD Lic. All Ages

Sat Feb 11 – Enmore Theatre, Sydney NSW Lic. All Ages

Sun Feb 12 – 170 Russell, Melbourne VIC – SOLD OUT

Mon Feb 13 – 170 Russell, Melbourne VIC

Wed Feb 15 – The Gov, Adelaide SA Lic. All Ages

Thu Feb 16 – Metropolis, Fremantle WA

sleepmakeswaves China headline tour

Thu March 9 – Mao Livehouse, Hangzhou CHINA

Fri March 10 – Mao Livehouse, Shanghai CHINA

Sat March 11 – Yugong Yishan, Beijing CHINA

Sun March 12 – Ola Space, Nanjing CHINA

Tue March 14 – Nuts, Chongqing CHINA

Wed March 15 – Little Bar Space, Chengdu CHINA

Thu March 16 – Vox, Wuhan CHINA

Fri March 17 – Fei Livehouse, Guangzhou CHINA

Sat March 18 – B10, Shenzhen CHINA

Sun March 19 – Hidden Agenda, Hong Kong CHINA

sleepmakeswaves Australian headline tour

Fri March 24 – Metro Theatre, Sydney NSW

Sat March 25 – Max Watt’s, Melbourne VIC

Thu March 30 – ANU Bar, Canberra ACT

Fri March 31 – Cambridge Hotel, Newcastle

Thu April 6 – The Gov, Adelaide SA

Fri April 7 – Badlands, Perth WA

Sat April 8 – Max Watt’s, Brisbane

sleepmakeswaves Australia & New Zealand tour w/Devin Townsend Project (CAN)

Thu May 18 – Powerstation, Auckland NZ

Sat May 20 – The Triffid, Brisbane QLD

Mon May 22 – Enmore Theatre, Sydney NSW

Wed May 24 – 170 Russell, Melbourne VIC

Fri May 26 – Capitol, Perth WA

Tickets for all shows from www.sleepmakeswaves.com

 

Pre-order the new album from www.sleepmakeswaves.bandcamp.com